Horizons in Molecular Biology Symposium

The 17th International Symposium “Horizons in Molecular Biology” will take place on 14th - 17th of September 2020. Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, and the incertitudes regarding travelling in the future, the conference will be held online. Stay tuned on social media, while we work on the necessary changes. 

Click here to download Horizons 2019 booklet.

Photos and videos of the event will be gradually published on our social media (see links in the footer).

If you have any questions please consult our FAQ section or Contact Us.

Horizons 2019 Speakers ́ Reading Suggestions

After an exciting yet exhausting week of scientific talks, we asked our speakers for suggestions of books to enjoy in between the experiments or on your flight home. Here is what they came up with:
Speaker´s Reading Suggestions.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 66.1 KB

Horizons Career Fair 2019

The Career Fair is organized annually in conjunction with the Horizons in Molecular Biology Symposium and this year will take place on the 9th of September.  As organizers of the 13th Horizons Career Fair, our goal is to bring together pre- and postdoctoral students from different molecular biology fields with representatives of fascinating career paths one could pursue. This year we have a very exciting list of speakers! Join us in listening about a wide range of opportunities and career paths one could pursue after obtaining a doctoral degree in Science.


This year's list of speakers includes:

Simone Mayer – academia – group leader at the Hertie Institute for Clinical Brain Research.

Christine Mieck – publishing – Associate editor at Nature Communications

Bernd Reichert – science policy – head of the European Innovation Council's SME Instrument in the European Innovation Council, EU Commission

Andreas Laustsen – bio-entrepreneurship – Associate Professor at the Technical University of Denmark & Biotech Entrepreneur

Beata Mierzwa – science art – scientist and artist, combining the two in Beata Science Art

Micheal Becker – industry  – head of laboratory in the area of kidney disease research at Bayer AG

Magdalena Wienken – industry/consulting – Manager Tissue Profiling Data Strategy and Operations at Definiens GmbH


Not only talks, but also workshops on important soft skills will be given during the Career Fair:

"Fundamentals of Grant Writing" with Angelika Hofmann

"Presentations that Pop: Bringing Science to Life" with Deb Koen

Impressions of Horizons 2019